21 April, 2014 - 10:44
Syndicate content
   
Text Size

The Ultimate Sport

What IS Ultimate?

Ultimate is a fast-paced, non-contact sport that is played on a field similar to a football field. A team on offense aims to move the disc up field by passing it to team members until it is caught in the opposing team’s end zone, resulting in a point.  Players cannot run with the disc; a player must stop when he takes possession of the disc, establish a pivot foot and attempt to pass the disc to a teammate.  An incomplete pass or an interception results in a turnover, and the game immediately changes direction.  Every player is a thrower, a catcher and a defender.  Each completed goal counts as one point, and teams play to a pre-established final score, usually between 11 and 21 points.

Ultimate is full of exciting action: players diving horizontally (“going ho”) to catch or block a disc; players jumping high in the air to catch a disc before the other team; short, quick passes; scoring points in the corner of the end zone after a 70-yard pass (a “huck”) and players doing everything they can to intercept each pass.

Ultimate can be compared to several other sports: it uses a football field, the pivot foot is like that in basketball, the action is continuous like in soccer or hockey... but more importantly, several aspects of the game make it unique.

Spirit of the Game

One major focus of ultimate is on spirit of the game. It is such an important part of the philosophy of Ultimate that it even appears in the preface to the rules: "Spirit of the Game - Ultimate relies upon a spirit of sportsmanship which places the responsibility for fair play on the player. Highly competitive play is encouraged, but never at the expense of mutual respect between players, adherence to the agreed upon rules of the game, or the basic joy of play. Protection of these vital elements serves to eliminate adverse conduct from the Ultimate field. Such actions as taunting of opposing players, dangerous aggression, belligerent intimidation, intentional fouling, or other "win-at-all-costs" behavior are contrary to the spirit of the game and must be avoided by all players." (UPA 11th Edition Rules).

No referees

Given that we assume that each player will not intentionally violate any of the rules, there is no need to have a referee on the field. If a player believes he/she is the victim of a foul or that he/she has committed one, he/she only has to say “FOUL” loudly.  This rule also applies in the case of violations like traveling and interference (such as picks). If the player thought to have caused the foul or violation does not agree with the call, he/she simply says “I CONTEST”. There are specific ways to deal with restarting play, depending on the type of foul. Clearly, when the match is tightly contested and the adrenaline is pumping, foul calls are not always straightforward and are sometimes called less than politely, but this policy has proven quite effective for the game).

It is played with a disc ("frisbee")

The trajectory and behaviour of a ball is easily predictable, but even a beginner to the game of Ultimate can get a disc to fly in such a way as to make any professional baseball player jealous. A disc can float, lift, curve; you can hit a disc in the air and cause it to rise; it can be thrown downwards but bounce upwards; it can suddenly lift 3 feet higher than its intended target or drop suddenly to the ground; during strong winds, a disc can stop completely and start going back where it came from but we cannot even begin to describe all of the ways a disc can respond to windy conditions. It becomes very important to be able to “read” the path of a disc. There are times that I find this element of the game more exciting than watching a disc floating just out of reach of a 6-foot tall defender to land in the hands of a receiver who managed to just jump that extra bit higher than his defender.

 

In the beginning...

 

 

Today......

21 septembre, 2014 - 08:09
Syndiquer le contenu
   
Text Size

Le Ultimate

Qu’est-ce que le Ultimate?

Le Ultimate est un sport sans contact et rapide qui se joue sur un terrain similaire à celui d’un terrain de football. L’équipe offensive doit déplacer le disque à l’aide de passes jusqu’à ce qu’il soit attrapé dans la zone de but défensive de l’équipe adverse, ce qui résulte en un but. Il est interdit de courir avec le disque ; un joueur doit s’arrêter lorsqu’il prend possession du disque, établir un point de pivot avec le pied et tenter une passe à un coéquipier. Une passe incomplète ou une interception constitue un revirement et le jeu change immédiatement de direction. Tous les joueurs peuvent être lanceurs, receveurs et défenseurs. Un nombre de points, habituellement de 11 à 21, est préétabli pour une joute et chaque but compte pour un point.

Le Ultimate est rempli d’action excitante : des joueurs qui plongent horizontalement (faire un HO) pour attraper ou bloquer un disque ; des joueurs qui volent haut dans les airs pour disputer la réception d’un disque ; des passes courtes et rapides ; faire un point dans un coin de la zone de but après une passe de 70 verges (huck) et un joueur qui fait tout pour intercepter une passe.

Le Ultimate peut être comparé à plusieurs sports : il utilise un terrain de football, le pied de pivot comme au basket-ball, l’action continu du soccer ou du hockey…mais plus important encore, plusieurs aspects du jeu le rendent unique en son genre.

L’esprit du jeu

Des efforts considérables sont mis afin d’accentuer l’esprit du jeu. Il est tellement une part importante de la philosophie du Ultimate qu’il apparaît dans la préface des règlements : " Traditionnellement, le Ultimate est basé sur l’esprit du jeu ce qui implique un respect mutuel entres joueurs et des règles acceptées de tous ou du simple plaisir du jeu. Il est entendu qu’aucun joueur n’ira volontairement à l’encontre de ces règles. Il n’existe donc pas, à ce jeu, de pénalité sévère pour des fautes commises par mégarde, mais plutôt une méthode de reprise du jeu stimulante. Le but des ces règles est de fournir une directive afin de préserver l’intégrité du jeu. (WFDF Rules: Article IV - Ultimate ©1994)

 

Aucun arbitre

Puisque nous assumons qu’aucun joueur ne violera intentionnellement les règlements, nous considérons que la présence d’arbitre n’est pas nécessaire. Si un joueur s’estime victime d’une faute ou bien d’en avoir commis une, il doit simplement dire à voix haute " FAUTE ". Cette règle s’applique aussi dans le cas de violations tel que le transport et les interférences (picks). Si le joueur, à qui l’on attribut une faute ou une violation, n’est pas d’accord avec l’appel, il n’a qu’à simplement dire " JE CONTESTE ". Il existe plusieurs mécanismes pour la reprise du jeu dépendamment du type de faute. Il est évident que lorsque le pointage d’une joute est serré et que l’adrénaline est à son maximum, les appels de fautes ne sont pas aussi simples ou appelées de manière polie, mais cette politique a été éprouvée et s’est avérée efficace.

 

Il est joué avec un disque

La trajectoire ou le comportement mécanique d’une balle est facilement prévisible. Un débutant peut manipuler un disque et lui faire des manœuvres à rendre un lanceur de base-ball professionnel jaloux. Un disque va flotter, monter, courber, vous pouvez frapper un disque en vol et lui faire prendre de la hauteur, il peut être lancé vers le sol avec les rebords vers le haut ou peut soudainement monter 3 pieds par-dessus le receveur désigné et soudainement retomber au sol; durant de forts vents, un disque peut s’arrêter complètement et revenir vers l’arrière mais je ne voudrais pas rentrer dans les détails sur la réaction d’un disque dans les conditions venteuses. L’objectif est de vous démontrer l’importance de la " lecture " de la trajectoire d’un disque. À certains moments, je trouve que cet élément du jeu est plus excitant que de voir un disque flotter au bout des doigts d’un défenseur de plus de 6 pieds et atterrir dans les mains d’un receveur défiant verticalement le joueur défensif.

 

Aux origines...

 

 

Aujourd'hui...